Aquatic Nuisance Species Task Force (ANSTF)



The Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) Task Force is an intergovernmental organization dedicated to preventing and controlling aquatic nuisance species, and implementing the Nonindigenous Aquatic Nuisance Prevention and Control Act (NANPCA) of 1990. The various NANPCA mandates were expanded later with the passage of the National Invasive Species Act (NISA) in 1996. The ANS Task Force consists of 13 Federal agency representatives and 12 Ex-officio members, and is co-chaired by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The ANS Task force coordinates governmental efforts dealing with ANS in the U.S. with those of the private sector and other North American interests via regional panels and issue specific committees and work groups. For more information, click here.


State ANS Management Plans

The ANS Task Force encourages state and interstate planning entities to develop management plans describing detection and monitoring efforts of aquatic nuisance species, prevention efforts to stop their introduction and spread, and control efforts to reduce their impacts. Management plan approval by the Aquatic Nuisance Species Task Force is required to obtain funding under Section 1204 of the Aquatic Nuisance Species Prevention and Control Act. Regardless of financial incentives, plans are a valuable and effective tool for identifying and addressing ANS problems and concerns in a climate of many jurisdictions and other interested entities.